Our Partners

Lithium Sponsors

News

Here the latest news of our project will be presented:

Rollout

Our motorcycle is currently on display at the focus-rollout.
When: 14 September - 31 October 2020
Where: LEE building, E floor, Leonhardstrasse 21, 8092 Zurich
Click here for more information: D-MAVT Focus-Rollout

Rollout

Interview mit Sintratec

An interessing article written by Sintratec about our project and how they supported us in it: Shaping the future of mobility with 3D printing


Teaser

Our electric motorcycle will soon be finished. Stay tuned!


CADFEM Journal

We have written an article for the CADFEM Journal 1/2020, which can be found here: PDF (german)

Our Vision

We want to create a radical change in today´s urban and suburban mobility. The solution: ethec city! Today´s electric motorcycles suffer from their short range. By recovering the braking power with the help of recuperation, it is possible for us to reach further distances with a smaller battery. User experience and performance remain in the foreground, because everyone should want to drive ethec city. "a sustainable and efficient solution for everyday mobility" - ethec team

Focus Project

The focus projects at ETH Zurich give students a unique opportunity to experience the complete development of a product. From the first draft to the technical engineering, design, production and marketing, the students manage the whole process alone. The required knowledge and the necessary skills are acquired through self-study, lectures and, most importantly, the dialogue with experts from the industry, student advisors and professors. The ethec team is made up of 7 mechanical and 3 electrical engineering students from ETH Zurich and 5 industrial design students from the FHNW.

Product

Mechanics

A good motorcycle experience includes riding comfort, ergonomics and last but not least the design. With a stable frame construction and a well adjusted chassis, our mechanics team ensures a quiet and safe ride. For this purpose we analyse the forces acting while driving and design our components accordingly. In close cooperation with a team of designers, we adapt the geometry of the motorcycle for good ergonomics and an attractive appearance.

Battery

As battery-team we are responsible for the range and supply of the entire electronics on board. We develop a fast charging, powerful battery with a long lifespan. By using a passive oil cooling system, we ensure that the battery cells never exceed the optimum temperature, even in the harshest conditions. In contrast to ethec alpha, we quadruple the voltage so that fast charging and lighter motors come into play.

Software & Control

In the control team, we take care of everything that happens in the background. In order to have all processes firmly under control, we at ethec city rely on real-time systems. This technology allows us to ensure maximum safety for the driver and his environment by constantly monitoring the vehicle. Furthermore the driving dynamics and the driving behavior are optimized with the help of selected sensors in interaction with our software and control to the highest degree, so that we can guarantee customer satisfaction.

Electronics & Motors

Our module includes the motors, the ESC as well as the entire wiring and electronic components. Efficiency, weight and performance are our top priorities. With a new concept with two wheel hub motors, we can guaranee better driving dynamics and unprecedented ranges through recuperation. To achieve this, we develop our motors and ESCs ourselves. For the ethec city project, high goals were set.

Design

With our project we want to pursue a concrete design strategy: The technical innovations should be reflected in their own aesthetics and at the same time quote the predecessor project ethec alpha. To this end, a student project was initiated at the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW), in which a design spectrum was presented and then with a collective decision a direction for the project was chosen. Under the direction of Lutz Gebhardt and the supervision of Johannes Hammers, the Industrial Design students pursued three concepts in three teams and converted their visions into scale models. Here, the riding position, but also the creative character development, played a decisive role. These main characteristics are responsible for perceived a motorcycle as sporty or comfortable, agile or well-tolerated, classical or futuristic. The following working pictures show the concept that best fitted our ideas. With the status of the models the project was handed over to our design team, which implemented it without losing sight of the students' basic concept.

Technical Datasheet

Battery:

  • Lithium-ion technology
  • 315 km range
  • 15 kWh capacity
  • optimized lifespan achieved through integration of a passive oil cooling
  • continuous monitoring of the cell temperature and the cell voltage

Electronics & Motors:

  • wheel hub motors
  • 2 x 16.7 kW continuous power
  • up to 70 kW peak power
  • high voltage interlock for security
  • variable recuperation

Mechanics, Design & Packaging:

  • tube frame for a low weight
  • stereo swingarm at the back is a proven design
  • entire user-interface through a display

Our Team

ethec Teambild

Project Lead

Josef Mayr

Dr. Josef Mayr

project responsibility

Martin Tanner

Martin Tanner

team lead

Tobias Oesch

Tobias Oesch

technical lead, admission

Battery & Thermodynamics

Felix Schmoll

Felix Schmoll

module lead, battery case, battery cooling

Josef Köll

Josef Köll

battery case, cellarchitecture

Mechanik & Design
Packaging

Tobias Oesch

Tobias Oesch

module lead, chassis, break

Timo Gerdes

Timo Gerdes

strength analysis, lighting, operation, display

Anna Schnyder

Anna Schnyder

packaging, frame, fairing

Electronics & Motors

Steven Peter

Steven Peter

module lead, ESC

Simon Knecht

Simon Knecht

motors

Martin Tanner

Martin Tanner

wiring, charging

Software & Control

Marco Failla

Marco Failla

module lead, software & control

Diego Bolliger

Diego Bolliger

software & control

Design

Lutz Gebhardt

Lutz Gebhardt

designer

Johannes Hammers

Johannes Hammers

designer

Simon Leutwiler

Simon Leutwiler

designer, design engineer

Contact us

Unsere Partner

Lithium-Sponsoren

Neuigkeiten

Hier werden die neusten Informationen zu unserem Projekt präsentiert:


Interview mit Electric Vehicle Web

Unser Projekt hat es bis nach Indien geschafft! Das Interview findet ihr hier.


Interview mit Sintratec

Ein spannender Artikel von Sintratec über unser Projekt und wie sie uns unterstützt haben: Mit 3D-Druck die Zukunft der Mobilität gestalten


Teaser

Unser Elektro-Motorrad ist kurz vor der Vollendung. Stay tuned!


CADFEM Journal

Wir haben einen Artikel für das CADFEM Journal 1/2020 geschrieben, welcher hier zu finden ist: PDF (Deutsch)

Unsere Vision

Wir möchten einen Umbruch der heutigen urbanen, sowie in der suburbanen Mobilität schaffen. Die Lösung: ethec city! Heutige Elektromotorräder leiden an ihrer kurzen Reichweite. Durch die Rückgewinnung der Bremsleistung mit Hilfe der Rekuperation, ist es uns möglich weitere Strecken mit einer kleineren Batterie zu erreichen. Dabei bleiben User-Experience und Leistung stehts im Vordergrund, denn jeder soll ethec city fahren wollen. "a sustainable and efficient solution for everyday mobility" - ethec team

Fokusprojekt

Die jährlich durchgeführten Fokusprojekte der ETH Zürich bieten Studierenden die einzigartige Möglichkeit ein Produkt vom ersten Entwurf, über das Engineering und Design, die Produktion bis hin zum Marketing selbst zu entwickeln. Das notwendige Wissen wird im Selbststudium, parallel zu laufenden Lehrveranstaltungen und durch den Dialog mit Partnern aus der Industrie, Betreuern und Professoren zusammengetragen. ethec setzt sich aus sieben Maschinenbauern und drei Elektroingenieuren der ETH sowie fünf Industriedesignern der FHNW zusammen.

Produkt

Mechanik

Zu einem guten Motorraderlebnis gehören Fahrkomfort, Ergonomie und nicht zuletzt auch das Design. Unser Mechanik Team sorgt mit einer stabilen Rahmenkonstruktion und einem gut eingestellten Fahrwerk für eine ruhige und sichere Fahrt. Hierfür analysieren wir die während der Fahrt wirkenden Kräfte und legen unsere Bauteile dafür aus. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit einem Team von Designern passen wir die Geometrie des Motorrades für eine gute Ergonomie und ein ansprechendes Aussehen an.

Batterie

Als Batterieteam sind wir für die Reichweite und Versorgung der gesamten Elektronik an Bord verantwortlich. Wir entwickeln eine schnellladende, leistungsstarke Batterie mit langer Lebensdauer. Mittels einer passiven Öl-Kühlung stellen wir sicher, dass sich die Batteriezellen selbst bei Autobahnfahrt im Sommer im optimalen Temperaturfenster befinden. Im Unterschied zum ethec alpha vervierfachen wir die Spannung, sodass Schnellladen und leichtere Motoren zum Einsatz kommen.

Software & Regelung

Im Regelungs-Team kümmern wir uns um all das, was im Hintergrund abläuft. Um alle Prozesse fest im Griff haben zu können, setzen wir im ethec city auf Echtzeitsysteme zurück. Diese Technik erlaubt uns, durch die ständige Überwachung des Fahrzeugs, für höchste Sicherheit des Fahrers und seiner Umgebung zu sorgen. Weiter werden die Fahrdynamik und das Fahrverhalten mit Hilfe von ausgewählten Sensoren in Zusammenspiel mit unserer Software und Regelung auf höchstem Grad optimiert, damit wir absoluten Fahrspass garantieren können.

Elektronik & Motoren

Zu unserem Modul gehören die Motoren, die Inverter sowie die gesamte Verkabelung und elektronischen Komponenten. Effizienz, Gewicht und Leistung haben bei uns höchste Priorität. Wir erzielen durch ein neuartiges Konzept mit zwei Radnabenmotoren eine bessere Fahrdynamik und noch nie dagewesene Reichweiten durch Rekuperation. Um das zu erreichen entwickeln wir unsere Motoren und Inverter selbst. Für das Projekt ethec city haben wir aus dem Modul Motoren und Elektrotechnik uns hohe Ziele gesetzt, welche wir realisieren wollen.

Design

Wir möchten mit unserem Projekt eine konkrete Designstrategie verfolgen: Die technischen Innovationen sollen sich in einer eigenen Ästhetik widerspiegeln und gleichzeitig das Vorgängerprojekt ethec alpha zitieren. Hierfür wurde an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW) ein Studenten-Projekt angekurbelt, in dem ein gestalterisches Spektrum aufgezeigt und anschliessend mit einem gemeinsamen Entscheid eine Richtung für das Projekt festgelegt werden soll. Die Industrial Design Studenten verfolgten unter der Leitung von Lutz Gebhardt und der Betreuung von Johannes Hammers in drei Teams verschiedene Konzepte und setzten ihre Visionen in Massstabs-Modellen um. Hier spielten die Sitzposition, aber auch die gestalterische Charakterbildung, eine entscheidende Rolle. Diese Hauptmerkmale sind verantwortlich dafür, ob ein Motorrad sportlich oder komfortabel, agil oder verträglich, klassisch oder futuristisch wahrgenommen wird. Die folgenden Arbeits-Bilder zeigen jenes Konzept, welches am besten zu unseren Vorstellungen gepasst hat. Mit dem Stand der Modelle wurde das Projekt an unser Design-Team übergeben, welches es zur Umsetzung geführt hat, ohne das Grundkonzept der Studenten aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Technisches Datenblatt

Batterie:

  • Lithium-Ionen Technologie
  • 315 km Reichweite
  • 15 kWh Kapazität
  • Optimierte Lebensdauer durch Integration einer passiven Ölkühlung
  • Kontinuierliche Überwachung der Zelltemperatur und der Zellspannung

Elektronik & Motoren:

  • Radnabenmotoren
  • 2 x 16.7 kW Dauerleistung
  • Bis zu 70 kW Spitzenleistung
  • Hochspannungs-Verriegelung zur Sicherheit
  • Variable Rekuperation

Mechanik, Design & Packaging:

  • Rohrrahmen für ein geringes Gewicht
  • Zweiarmschwinge hinten als bewährtes Design
  • Gesamte Anzeige über ein Display

Unser Team

ethec Teambild

Projektleitung

Josef Mayr

Dr. Josef Mayr

Projektverantwortung

Martin Tanner

Martin Tanner

Teamleitung

Tobias Oesch

Tobias Oesch

Technische Leitung, Zulassung

Batterie & Thermo

Felix Schmoll

Felix Schmoll

Modulleitung, Batteriegehäuse, Batteriekühlung

Josef Köll

Josef Köll

Batteriegehäuse, Zellarchitektur

Mechanik & Design
Packaging

Tobias Oesch

Tobias Oesch

Modulleitung, Fahrwerk, Bremsen

Timo Gerdes

Timo Gerdes

Festigkeitsnachweis, Beleuchtung, Bedienung, Display

Anna Schnyder

Anna Schnyder

Packaging, Verkleidung, Rahmen

Elektronik & Motoren

Steven Peter

Steven Peter

Modulleitung, Inverter

Simon Knecht

Simon Knecht

Motoren

Martin Tanner

Martin Tanner

Elektrotechnik, Charging

Software & Regelung

Marco Failla

Marco Failla

Modulleitung, Software & Regelung

Diego Bolliger

Diego Bolliger

Software & Regelung

Design

Lutz Gebhardt

Lutz Gebhardt

Designer

Johannes Hammers

Johannes Hammers

Designer

Simon Leutwiler

Simon Leutwiler

Designer, Konstrukteur

Louis Parzefall

Louis Parzefall

Designkonzept

Marlon Bellanova

Marlon Bellanova

Designkonzept

Kontaktieren Sie uns